New Announcement! :)

Hey guys!

Thought I would give you all an update, and include an exciting new announcement also!

So I have been really busy since my return from my week in the UK, and the reason why is because I have been beginning work on my very own documentary on marine conservation!

It is titled ‘In Our Hands’ and through this documentary I plan to reach out to young adults and teenagers- my target audience. I will spend one year filming my own experiences and following the stories of other young conservationists and develop a documentary that will both motivate and inspire young adults and teens (and of course all other ages!) to get involved in saving our marine environment… The documentary will cover a multitude of issues affecting the conservation of our marine environment (from the conservation of our apex predators, whales, dolphins, rays, turtles, dugongs etc- to the conservation of coral reefs and the issue of overfishing and pollution in our oceans…) in order to educate others on what is REALLY happening to the oceans we love.

My aim is to show young people that you don’t have to be older, with an established career or a P.H.D behind you to make a difference in our world- I believe the change will come from the youth of the world, so that is the audience I aim to target with this doco!

 

At the moment I am busy searching for sponsors who will help me along the way in both the filming and production of the film- my first confirmed sponsor is a business that I hold very dear to me, the crew being basically part of my extended family, and that is Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort who have very kindly offered to support me whilst I film on the island to gain footage for my ‘Coral Reef Conservation’ section of the documentary!

 

Last week I visited South West Rocks in New South Wales, Australia to dive and film at Fish Rock Cave, a site renowned for its’ population of highly endangered Grey Nurse Sharks… I would like to thank the crew at Fish Rock Dive Centre for their amazing service! On the dive we saw between 20-30 Grey Nurse Sharks, an amazing species which are amongst some of the most placid species of marine life that I have encountered… Fishermen of years gone by are responsible for bringing these creatures almost to extinction, as it was once thought that these animals were highly aggressive due to their misleading appearance… Whilst I was diving and filming only centimetres underneath a particularly large shark, I couldn’t think of anything more amazing, beautiful and above all- peaceful.

Below is a video of the dive site at Fish Rock Cave including footage of the Grey Nurse Sharks- if you’re ever in the area, it is a must see!

 

 

And so, from now onwards expect to see lots of video blogs, blogs and other updates about my experiences while filming ‘In Our Hands’… If you would like me to cover a particular issue- dive a particular dive site etc please let me know by email! I will be updating you all on my efforts every step of the way…

Also if you know of a company or business that would be interested in getting on board to help support or sponsor my efforts in creating this documentary, please email me at pathtoprotect@hotmail.com – unfortunately it is only with this kind of support that I can make the best film possible! Any amount of sponsorship or other support makes a difference.

 

Over the next few months I will be heading to Tonga in the Pacific Islands to get footage of the amazing Humpback Whales on their yearly migration, then to Lady Elliot once again to film the amazing Great Barrier Reef!

I also plan to head back to Taiji in the coming months with a small group of young conservationists- over in Japan we will make a few extra stops along the way to cover a bit more of the issue of dolphin hunting and conservation in Japan. Stay updated here and on Facebook for more in the coming months!

 

As the 1st of September (and the start of Taiji’s dolphin hunting season for 2011/2012) draws near, there are protests being held around the world to mark the international opposition to the actions taken out against small cetaceans and the extermination of the population of dolphins and small whales in the area. Please join a protest near you to have your say, and have your voice heard… I will be in Brisbane, QLD this year with fellow Cove Guardian, Andy to have our say.. I will include more details very soon!

 

Keep updates for more updates coming soon! If you have any questions or comments, please contact me at pathtoprotect@hotmail.com

On the path to protect,

Nicole.

 

4 comments

  1. I am old enough to remember that it was the likes of Ron and Val Taylor and Ben Cropp that caused the decimation of numbers of Grey Nurse Sharks in the first place, not fishers.
    Just know that the Grey Nurse is NOT critically endangered as a species as it is present in large numbers all over the world. Be careful not to get caught up in the hype surrounding the current debate in East Coast Australia.
    I respect your desire to do something about conservation but beware of the hidden agenda of some of the people claiming to be environmentalists when all they are really doing is promoting their own business.

  2. Fantastic Nicole

    Keep up the good work.
    It is great having facebook so I see what you are up to – lots of exciting times!
    it would be nice to catch up in person in the not too distant future.
    Anne

Leave a Reply

