Compassion Will Triumph

Coming to Taiji at the age of 19 last year was the biggest turning point of my life. I spent three months here and felt every emotion under the sun, every day. There could have been times where I just wished I could live an easy teenage life, however ever since I was 6 years old I knew that a simple life was not on the cards for me. I grew up very quickly while I was    here last season- I knew that I had to.

What my experiences since have shown me is that money, pride, greed and image will force humankind to do basically anything. They will go against their morals, they will knowingly destroy both natural habitats and beings, and show no remorse.. The more I see this, the more I am disheartened…

However, the more I see this, the more I am driven to rise up against it. At the end of the day- compassion will triumph.

The desperation that comes when those who know they are fighting a losing battle is obvious. Individuals, businesses and governments will go to any lengths- and more extreme lengths when they know they are coming to a defeat. Once this desperation begins, all that is left is for the compassionate pursuit to stay strong, hold their heads high, stay clear of compromise and negotiations and keep doing what they do.

This week has been bloody, cruel, ongoing and emotionally, mentally and physically draining. Out of the last 6 days, the cove has been stained with the blood of innocent lives on 5 different occasions… Since I have last posted, there has been two consecutive slaughters of Risso’s dolphin families. On top of that, mothers have been ripped apart from their babies, as mankind greedily select which lives will serve and entertain humans for the rest of their lives in captivity. To see this, every day, to know about the strength of the family bonds of these animals, to know that they themselves are self aware, to know that they feel pain, that they feel loss and depression and loneliness is nothing short of torturous.

For this reason, we stand together here in Taiji against what is happening around us. I often refrain from using this term, however this week has shown to me that the acts of mankind here are evil… in all sense of the word.

Today, my good friend, and fellow Sea Shepherd Cove Guardian was arrested during his attempts at standing up and trying to give these dolphins a voice amongst humans. To give the dolphins that are yet to migrate past Taiji a future… to give hope for future generations, and to show that we will not back down in the fight to protect the world’s marine life… Right now, he is sitting alone in a Japanese jail.

It is now more important than ever that we all stand together and continue our fight… that we continue to give a voice to these beautiful animals. The desperation and the cracks are showing, and this is the time for us to become a stronger voice.

Over the course of the next few days and possibly weeks, we may need to send out a call to action. Right now, we ourselves are gaining more knowledge on the situation, and will update more in time. Meanwhile- send your passionate words to the Dolphin Resort Hotel in Taiji- a number one facility in contributing to the slaughters this week, through buying the babies taken from their mothers…

Phone: +81 735 59 3514

Fax: +81 735 59 2810

Email: info@dolphinresort.jp

As Ric O’Barry has said… “we are going to stop this”.

And I don’t think we’ve ever been so close…

For those of you who want to help us make a difference and have a hand at stopping the dolphin slaughter in Taiji, click here! Also- to help me in my mission to give a voice to the youth of the world, read all about my ‘In Our Hands’ project and PLEASE get involved!

Now, more than ever, we need people to stand amongst us here in Taiji as Sea Shepherd Cove Guardians- for an application, email Scott West at: coveguardian@seashepherd.org

You can follow my Facebook for more updates from Taiji and my journey… Also email me at pathtoprotect@hotmail.com with any comments or questions!
Thanks again for all the support guys!

On the path to protect,
Nicole.

9 comments

  1. This is just horrific and no end in sight. At least it is a good feeling to know that our emails, calls and faxes to get to them.
    I hope Erwin will be okay and out soon. So sorry to hear that he was arrested.
    Thank you for all you do.

  2. While I’m sure it is of minor concern to you Nicole, I find it quite disheartening and awfully rude that “the system” has robbed you of a joyous playful childhood and a kiss-chasie adolescence.

    Further of “the system”, it’s sickening to think that foresight can be ignored only to have future hindsight admit that the arrest of your friend is a crime against humanity.

    Worse of “the system” is that the majority of people of “the system” are on autopilot and thereby miss the big picture whilst they continue their path to “the big picture – the system”; you could nearly not blame them (but we will and so we should) – and so the destructive cycle prevails.
    A small portion of people do notice but then just as quickly forget or ignore or both and that is intentional degradation !

    Lastly, myself being a part of “the system”, it annoys me that I am held back by “the system” to do more on this and other issues in conservation, yet I relish and feel some sense of completeness in the fact that I am doing something – I yearn to do more and so by this I know that will unfold.

    So absolutely Nicole, I shall forward my passionate-attest words to the Dolphin Resort Hotel and seek a path to protect over my Christmas break by getting involved with the simple if not fun task of collecting handprints on sheets to forward you in the new year.

    Stay strong sis ! – at least the weather looks half decent there.

  3. Hello Nicole…….email just sent!!!!!!!!!!! We can only hope someone will “get it”…Please, everyone…….use the email address Nicole has given us and send your POLITE thoughts and feelings to the Dolphin Resort……..Be strong.but be polite……it’s really important…..
    Take care, Nicole…….You are held in everyone’s thoughts everywhere!!!!
    Huge Hugs!!!!
    Betty

  4. Nice job Nicole. Keep doing the right thing.

    You serve as an encouragement to others around the world – even as the environment is being hit on some many fronts.

    Here in Michigan Lake Superior is threatened now by several evil companies will terrible environment records doing Sulfide (Acid) Mining along the shores on one of the last of the clean freshwater lakes – and doing it while dynamiting ancient Native America religious and ceremonial sites with no regard for Anishinaabe culture and heritage.

    Nicole – never doubt the importance – of you and your friends continuing to fight for wildlife.
    We will too – despite staggering odds as these companies bribe and throw around tons of cash.

  5. Hi,Nicole,
    Truly THAT word describes all the things wrong with the world today.You KNOW I think the world of you and Nao and the team of cove guardians.Take courage dwell on something pure and good and “nice” or pretty every day.Even a flower or a leaf.Focus on the beauty.Restore your spirit with knowledge that we are behind you all the way.
    Happy Christmas to you and your family.
    love
    heb

  6. could not let this disaster. Since the disappointment for Morgan I do a break, but it must stop the disaster of taiji… hunting whales… all these needs without respect for the other.I am you through the blog, sad to see that for your large and new year. You find massacres causing a future in captivity for the surviving slaves.
    such as Ric’ : have say….we are going to stop this

    with you, all

Leave a Reply

