Celebrating the Youth…

With a fleet of four cars among us Sea Shepherd and Save Japan Dolphins crew, we all headed straight for the harbour early this morning… With two cars in front of the one Libby and myself were driving in, we heard the fantastic news of the morning before even seeing it with out own eyes. As we rounded the corner toward the harbour, we heard those in the cars up ahead exclaiming the fact that the Harbour was full of banger boats! No dolphins were slaughtered today!

It seems fitting that on this day of holiday for the Japanese people, a holiday for those individuals “Coming of Age”, that the power of youth was to be once again demonstrated in a big way! As the nation celebrated those young people of 20 years of age, or who were turning 20 in the coming new year, I was quietly celebrating internally as I encountered a playground full of children- excited to help me with my cause…

This afternoon I approached the very same playground that I often visit to interact with the local youth… today, however was going to be my first attempt at getting kids to read and sign my petition which encourages locals to show their support for the end of the Taiji Dolphin Slaughter. It was within only seconds of entering the playground, that a small group of kids approached me for a chat, I asked them how they were, and then got out the petition to show them… One of the older boys read it aloud for everyone else to hear- they all exclaimed excitedly at the mention of Sea Shepherd Conservation Society- and as soon as he finished reading it, he asked for my pen and signed it straight away. All the other kids followed, and they all called for the rest of the children in the playground to come over aswell to sign… by the end I was laughing and talking to about 20 children who had just finished signing… I was totally amazed and very awe-inspired. The children in the area are absolutely amazing, and I really want to pursue working with the local youth… as I feel this is one of the most effective ways of creating, and sustaining change.

If you would like to help me from wherever you are in the world, please get involved in my Youth Project (more information on my blog page ‘youth project’) which will aim to create positive media awareness worldwide.

Don’t forget to keep sending in your questions to pathtoprotect@hotmail.com for me to answer in my video blogs! I had a bit of technical difficulty this afternoon so I wasn’t able to film my next video blog- however stay tuned as there will definitely be one posted up tomorrow! I will be answering questions I have received over the last few days or so…

You can follow my videos here on this blogpage (which I will continue to update every day) as well as my Youtube Channel
Also, don’t forget to add me as a friend on Facebook if you haven’t yet- for regular updates, photos, information and videos from the Cove.

If you want to help: Please help us put pressure upon the Japanese government and embassys worldwide- let them know that you oppose the slaughter by calling and emailing.

Thankyou everyone for your continued support, and positive feedback! We all really appreciate it!
On the path to protect,
Nicole.

4 comments

  1. That’s fantastic news! Now for the rest of the town 🙂 wish I could get there to help walk the streets and door knock with you. I know that you are focusing on Wakayama, but if you need me to get signatures here in Tokyo, please send me a copy of your petition.
    Happy to help if you need it.

  2. Indeed fantastic; especially in knowing that children do/ (can) have a big influence on the thinking and opinions of their parents.
    Great work Nicole!

  3. That is a wonderful update! I’m glad that you are celebrating this day with them! Keep up the great work Nicole.

Leave a Reply

