A Call To Action!

Before I begin to attempt my explanation of what happened today, I have a call to action to every single person reading this now.

Every single day, on average, 1000 people read my blog.
If you are reading this right now, you are one in one thousand… and you can potentially make a huge change.

What I want you all to do, is to take the footage of what happened this morning in Taiji, and send it to at least 5 people that you know, that do not know about the slaughter. Ensure that they watch this video. Answer any questions they have, direct them to websites to learn more if they have any you cannot answer…

Then, and this is the most important part, PLEASE tell each of them to send it to five of their friends who have not heard about the Taiji Dolphin Slaughter.

Just from this one video, and from each and every one of you reading this right now spreading the word, we can instantly reach 5,000 people. If the five people that you tell, tell five more, we have just spread this video out to 25,000 people!

So this is your challenge, I do hope that you accept it. You play an important role in creating this awareness- we are these dolphins’ only hope. Please stand up and help us create a change for the dolphins off the coast of Japan…

I have been dreading writing this blog all day… How could I even attempt to put into words the horror of witnessing intelligent, graceful, beautiful and purely innocent animals suffer at the hands of man for almost an hour… These dolphins were slowly dying- and the fishermen knew it. In fact, they came into the little inlet that these dolphins were stranded in, decided that they were too injured to swim away, so they left them there while they continued to slaughter their whole family… It wasn’t until they had finished- an hour later- that they finally came back for the suffering dolphins. They dragged them into the killing cove, where they saw their brothers, sisters, mothers and children’s bodies strewn all over… then they were butchered aswell.

The call from the boys who climbed Glenda’s Hill came on the radio soon after we arrived at the Cove after having watched the banger boats drive the dolphins from the Mountain Pass… They spoke of a few dolphins which were stranded up on the rocks. Over twenty minutes passed, and those dolphins were still there. Tim and myself raced up the stairs of the Hill, got out our cameras as quick as we could, and started to film. For almost another twenty minutes I stood there standing on the fence overlooking the small inlet filming. My legs shook from the pain of standing up on my toes for so long to get a good view, and my arm was in agony after twenty long minutes of raising it high in the air.

There were four dolphins that I could see as I filmed- the boys recall having seen a calf which seemed to have drowned amongst the pool of blood covering the inlet. This time, even watching what was happening through my camera lens was like having shooting pains through me. When you film this- your mind goes numb, you are determined to keep a steady hand, so you can show the world… Without footage like this, there would never have been a change created here in Taiji. I could feel the dolphins’ pain, every time they struggled for breath, every time they hit their precious bodies against the cold, jagged rocks I felt it… Nothing will ever come close to this horror, to this atrocity.

When it was all over, I took one step off the fence, and knew I needed to immediately sit down, before I would collapse. My legs felt like jelly, and I could not even fathom the sights I had just witnessed. It was like it just wasn’t registering… There was a small group of us up there, and they were all talking grim words amongst eachother- I could not for the life of me recall anything that was said. Everything sounded muffled, blurred and my mind was spinning. When I did realise what had happened… what I saw, I just broke down. I looked up and saw the faces of those surrounding me… there were tears upon the faces of grown men. No-one could believe what we had just seen. No-one could understand the cruelty.

Many people have been contacting me over the past few days in regards to how I am handling the situation with my mental health… Of course, it is not easy to bear witness to this. As Libby tells us, it is like seeing mass-scale murder every single day. Many of my friends and acquaintances thought I was too young, too inexperienced to go to Japan and witness this. But I would tell them- when in life could you every be ‘ready’ to see something like this? How could you ever prepare yourself to see slaughter every day?

I did not want to wait then, and I am glad I didn’t. I am as determined as you can get to seeing this slaughter end- I will only leave when the time comes that my visa expires, and I am forced to. I want to use my time here, and the opportunity I have at the moment to change something that I feel so strongly about. There are so many people that are unable to travel to Japan for many reasons, and be here to bear witness and to show the world what is going on… but I am advantaged enough to have this opportunity. I don’t want to sit by the sidelines any more- I want to influence people to make a change in this world, because I can see that it is very possible.
Although, I as well as the other Cove Guardians are very well aware that we are only able to help the dolphins when we are in a physical and above all, mental state to do so… We take down time every day in order to gain some reprieve from the emotion and trauma of our mornings’ experiences. I honestly don’t know how I would have dealt without the friendships I have made here, in particular with Libby. I am thankful that there are others here who are fighting for the same cause, and that there are people to share the experience with- we all need eachother from time to time, like we needed eachother today.

The positive feedback we all attain from everyone following our Facebook pages, blogs and Youtube channels also goes a very long way to helping us here in Taiji. You have no idea how much we rely on the positivity of others at the end of a hard day here, even the smallest thing can brighten our days… So thankyou very, very much for all of your support- it is amazing!

You can follow my videos here on this blogpage (which I will continue to update every day) as well as my Youtube Channel
Also, don’t forget to add me as a friend on Facebook if you haven’t yet- for regular updates, photos, information and videos from the Cove.

If you want to help: Please help us put pressure upon the Japanese government and embassys worldwide- let them know that you oppose the slaughter by calling and emailing.

Thankyou everyone for your continued support, and positive feedback! We all really appreciate it!
On the path to protect,
Nicole.

35 comments

  1. I am so sorry that you had to witness that Nicole, as activists we have to band together to end this and it will end!

    – Rebecca

  2. Nicole,

    Posted. Thank you. There are no words to describe the inhumanity and brutality of these men and women. Stay strong, you are working so hard and soon you and the dolphins will reap the rewards of your efforts.

  3. Sick! If this was in Australia, the divers would be rescuing the Dolphins not forcing them there a d then leaving them.
    Too much horror. I can’t believe that you have has to witness this. Please take care of your health. This must be taking a huge toll on all of you.
    Peace.

  4. Dear Nicole
    What can be said? There are no words for this horrible human behavour.
    What’s wrong with these people? Slaughtering beautiful whales and lovely dolphins in such a brutal way!
    I am worried about you! How do you cope with all this?
    Please take care of yourselves too!
    Thinking of you on the other side of the world!

  5. i cant begin 2 imagine how this disturbing horror affects you as you stand there unable 2 do anything….i will send this 2 as many as i can on my list.
    this is cruelty beyond belief and in a court of law…in the 1st degree… 😦

  6. My heart is bleeding for U and the dolphins. I am crying. You and all the other Coveguardians are true heroes. You are making a difference in this world. Love to you all! ❤

  7. Nicole & all the CGs,

    I am without words. I’ve read the blog and about to watch the video… I have already re-posted on FB and will be emailing this to everyone I know. No words can communicate the horrors you have to witness, nor the immense gratitude we feel for each of you (past, present and future CGs- from all NGOs). We are all in this for the long haul, and we will do anything and everything we can to make sure these horrors do not continue.

    Bless each of you … and RIP dear sweet angels of the oceans. We are so sorry for what those monsters have done to you. We will never give up the fight. Ever. We just hope it won’t be too late.

    Extinction is FOREVER. (SSCS)

  8. after watching this it made me cry and be sick i just dont understand how people can do this to these presious dolphins somthing needs to be done to save them

  9. Nicole,
    how unbelieveably horrific! these are not humans- they are soul-less monsters from hell! I pray that when its their time to go that God shows them the same mercy they have shown our dolphins! I HOPE THEY BURN IN HELL- I hope when we are in heaven we see them in hell.I am soo upset and angry right now. AND that female reporter can burn right along with them! She is also a scary selfish soul-less monster pig !!! OOOOOOOOOOOH I sent all this to everyone I know !!!
    I pray for you all there,
    Mary

  10. Dear Nicole,
    I have no idea how it is to witness such a brutal scene. To see the video is so hart for me, heartbreaking and makes me cry. I can imagine what you was going through. Nicole… I send the video to all of my friends to everyone I know. the animal welfare organisations every I knew. The question is, why do nothing helps. We signing petitions, calling embassies, writing emails, letters, rallies everything we do but it seems nothing helps. Why is that so? why cant the shepherds and all others not doing more there on the cove?

    I am so proud at you… you impressin me so much. but every day that bad news… this must find an end already.

  11. I am sorry for what you all have to endure. my thoughts are with you. The killing of whales and dolphins needs to end. I see it that we have evolved! Don’t give up!!! keep us educated, and we will spread the word!
    Beate

  12. This really made me feel sick…how can this be happening without anyone put a stop to it?I feel ashamed to be human when I see this!!
    But as you type if only we can influence at least five friends who, in turn, affects 5 maybe we can make our voice heard

  13. Aloha Nicole,

    Here is a quote from Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.
    ” A time comes when silence is betrayal. ”
    My prayers are with you and the ALL who are there to help end
    the slaughter !!

  14. This is evil at its worst, approaching these people with calm and love will not work, they are sadistic, cruel, evil monsters and are getting worse every day. I hope Karma bitch slaps them HARD

  15. I hear the stories about the dolphins all the time from a friend and actually seeing the abuse they get is absolutely heart-breaking!

  16. Japanese are cold and inhuman! ! !
    I traveled through several countries in Asia and everywhere there is a story of war or fighting the Japanese! is in the DNA of Japanese cruelty and indifference to life!
    I live in Japan for 20 years and during that time have not seen the inside of the Japanese, I see now!! The town of Taiji is the picture of what the Japanese are able to do with nature! The Japanese people should be ashamed! Shame, shame, shame! ! ! Hatred of the Japanese! I would buy my camera from Sony camcorder, now I will not buy more!! ‘m boycotting products from Sony and other Japanese product!! Flock of destroyers of nature! Enemy of Nature!

    1. I feel and understand your hate but there are alot of good Japanese people here in Japan.
      One of them, Nao, is a Cove Guardian, right now.
      Yes, these fishermen are evil and the politicians and others who support this. Pure evil!
      But hating all Japanese will not help the Dolphins. In fact it may push away the good Japanese people that want to end this.
      Peace
      Kim

      1. Squid
        Digite um texto ou endereço de um site ou traduza um documento.
        Cancelar
        Ouvir
        Ler foneticamente
        Tradução do português para inglês
        I know that many Japanese are not bad and that many Japanese do not eat meat or meat of dolphins and whales. But Japan is awakening that hate me, I can not do without Japanese remember the dolphins are killed in Taiji, after all are Japanese who are killing the dolphins in Taiji. Just as the Japanese (police and coastguard) intersect the foreigners in the city as if they were criminals and that is the talk seashepherd, you are being persecuted! It seems that if it continues, nothing changes, dolphins die, the Japanese are not manifestly, foreigners are the bad guys in this story.
        Life is important, the Japanese do not understand this?? will be difficult to understand what is life? proof that everything I write, is the suicide rate for Japanese only have tripled in 2010. The Japanese do not appreciate life, at least a majority!

      2. I know that many Japanese are not bad and that many Japanese do not eat meat or meat of dolphins and whales. But Japan is awakening that hate me, I can not do without Japanese remember the dolphins are killed in Taiji, after all are Japanese who are killing the dolphins in Taiji. Just as the Japanese (police and coastguard) intersect the foreigners in the city as if they were criminals and that is the talk seashepherd, you are being persecuted! It seems that if it continues, nothing changes, dolphins die, the Japanese are not manifestly, foreigners are the bad guys in this story.
        Life is important, the Japanese do not understand this?? will be difficult to understand what is life? proof that everything I write, is the suicide rate for Japanese only have tripled in 2010. The Japanese do not appreciate life, at least a majority!

  17. It deals with the wave of suicides seemingly unconnected That strikes Japan and the Efforts of the police to determine the Reasons behind the strange behavior.

    lack of love life
    is the nature of the Japanese hostage
    The Japanese did not respect human life
    watch the video:

    how to protect dolphins from Japanese hands, if Japanese people can not even stop the wave of suicide in Japan

  18. Hi Nicole, Do you have someone who can translate the latest blog…. Call to Action, to Japanese. I have somewhere to post it…. need to be in japanese.

  19. Every day these people kill cruelly indifferent to the opinion and the protests of thousands of people around the world. we can really stop them before they are cruelly killed all the dolphins in Japan? thanks to your efforts I think so, ‘even though the images are every day more and more’ strong. many people can not look at them and encourages the bastards fishing. each person must fight for this. believe and be heard. thanks guys. from italy

  20. Nichole.

    I Thank You from the Bottom of my Heart for Caring; for Loving the Dolphins & for Being there in Their Last Moments as You Have Done. The Spirits Connect and They Knew You Were There For Them. For Those who were Killed, Their Pain and Suffering is Over. For Those Who Have Been Captured, Tell Them Through Spirit You are Fighting For them In the Best Way Possible, and that You Love Them. Their Spirits Will Know this.

    I am So Sorry You have to Go through this Pain, but I give You Hope with this Truth. Our Missions On Earth Are Chosen Before We Come to Earth. Yours is a Brave and Self Sacrificing One for the Good Of Others. Yours is of the Highest Order. Not All Have Taken this Path. It is a Hard One, and Many are Unable or Unwilling to Sacrifice their Selves for the Good of All Creation. You are a Chosen One who is Able to Do this with Honor and the Grace of Your Being. God Bless You and the Others there in Taiji as Guardians and Supporters of the Dolphins who have been Killed and Captured in this Cove.

    For Your Mental Health and Physical Strength, Please Remember You Must Have a Place and Time to Recover from these Events. I Recommend a Healing Place to Go to Each Day to Purge Yourself Mentally of the Violence you Have Witnessed. Please Try to Envision Healing and Strengthening of the Spirit, and Find Peace Within, and Understand that All Things Have Purpose … The Dolphins have their Purpose, and You Have Your Purpose, and even the Fishermen have Purpose. I believe Our Purpose is to Help them Transition to a New Role; One of Healing Instead of Causing Pain. Somehow, all of the Actions by those who Are there Will Create Change, and we Want this to be Change for the Better. Change in a Way of Life that is Harmful to One that is Harmless for the Fishermen, or Even Better in Long Term, a Change for a Healthy Planet.

    Here is a Mental Exercise that Helps One to Heal and Strengthen both Physically and Mentally. Find a Quiet Place, and Let Your Mind Rest… If it is a hard thing to do, Concentrate on Breathing Deeply in and Out in a Meaningful Way, in a Slow Rhythmic Manner. Slowly… and, In Your Mind’s Eye, Envision There is a Healing Light from Above You … Allow it to Brighten and Glow, and then Allow the Light to Gently Fall Down From Your Head to Your Feet like a light Mist or Light Rainfall… Slowly Down through Your Head, and Neck, and Heart, and Pelvis, and Legs and Feet, and Into the Earth. Let this Process Continue for Minutes if You Can…. Slowly, Releasing the Pain, and Sorrow into the Earth. Thanking Mother Earth for Converting it into Rejuvenation for the Earth. If You can Do this or a Similar Exercise Each Day, This Should Help Strengthen You. It is Good to if You Have Others Who Can do this with You Supporting Each Other. Love and Peace to You! Cheryl

  21. True love for others and appreciation of the life of a dog!

    I know that many Japanese are not bad and that many Japanese do not eat meat or meat of dolphins and whales. But Japan is awakening that hate me, I can not do without Japanese remember the dolphins are killed in Taiji, after all are Japanese who are killing the dolphins in Taiji. Just as the Japanese (police and coastguard) intersect the foreigners in the city as if they were criminals and that is the talk seashepherd, you are being persecuted! It seems that if it continues, nothing changes, dolphins die, the Japanese are not manifestly, foreigners are the bad guys in this story.
    Life is important, the Japanese do not understand this?? will be difficult to understand what is life? proof that everything I write, is the suicide rate for Japanese only have tripled in 2010. The Japanese do not appreciate life, at least a majority!

Leave a Reply

