Stories of Inspiration…

With the vivid memory of yesterday’s brutality still very fresh in everyone’s minds, we all woke in the early hours of this morning, and drove to Taiji… Driving past the Cove this morning and spending time there today seemed surreal. I spent a lot of the morning trying to gaze anywhere else other than that small inlet and to distract my mind from the images which will be burnt into my memory for evermore. I spent my time in the Cove learning to speak more Japanese, with our Japanese Cove Guardian, Nao, helping me!

This morning, we soon found out that they were once again driving dolphins into the killing cove of Taiji. They had secured a small pod of 10 Risso’s dolphins… I remember being a very young child, poring over one of my many books on whales and dolphins, and coming to a photo of a Risso’s Dolphin. Back then, in my very young years, I was very intrigued by this dolphin especially… maybe it was their amusing grimace along their gorgeous snub-like rostrums, or their amazing markings all over their bodies. Growing up in Australia- we are very typically accustom to seeing bottlenose dolphins often gracing our shores, rarely seeing many other species. So as I looked into my book full of pictures of cetaceans, the wonder and intrigue of this particular dolphin species caught my attention… as it has for years.

I often think about the times of reading over my childhood books on whales and dolphins as I am standing there in the Cove… I think of my many childhood years carrying such a thirst for knowledge of these creatures- there is such an innocence in a child’s persistance of knowledge… little did I know that the first time I would ever witness a Risso’s dolphin back in early December of 2010, I would be seeing an entire family being slaughtered and torn apart by mankind…
I always wanted to know more about cetaceans when I was very young, and so I immersed myself in a world of dolphins and whales… to be honest, I have never come out of that world, and I doubt I ever will. I have felt such an affinity with these creatures ever since I was very young- and I know many people all over the world do also.

It was thinking about this, as well as the suggestion from a few people that led me to want to seek out those also with a strong affinity for these creatures. Not only that, but those who have had experiences with these animals that have greatly impacted their life… or even saved it. I am developing a new project to get those stories out there to the world… People often hear about stories where dolphins save human beings, or greatly influence their lives- well I would like to find those people, all over the world, who can tell us their stories of inspiration… who can show us the way in which wild dolphins have saved them.

Artwork by Stephen Bibb, South Africa

After only half an hour of research into this topic, I came across the story of Stephen Bibb, of South Africa. He has an amazing story to tell- of hope and inspiration, and a new lease on life which he would never have found if it weren’t for the help of wild dolphins… Stephen is an artist in South Africa- and the oceans and living creatures are what he bases his works of art upon. You can check out his artwork here. I have contacted Stephen, and he has already jumped on board with this project and would love to tell his story in order to show the importance of these amazing and intelligent animals in the wild.

I have been reading and researching stories of dolphins helping humans, and they span worldwide- from New Zealand, to Italy to the United States. It is absolutely amazing…
I need many more people like Stephen to get on board with this project, so if you or someone you know has had a particularly significant encounter with a wild dolphin, please tell me all about it by emailing me at pathtoprotect@hotmail.com
I will be getting everyone to share these experiences to the world, so that we can convey to those people who still perceive dolphins as merely ‘fish’ of the seas, that dolphins are animals we can still learn from, and creatures who will give us hope and inspiration for generations to come… if we can end the mass slaughter of them now.

Please ask around in your community- especially those of you living nearby the coast, or who are part of the surfing or life saving communities… I would love to hear about your encounters with wild dolphins.

Please spare a thought for the beautiful Risso’s dolphins who had their lives brutally taken from them at the hands of man this morning… 4 were taken for a life of imprisonment, 6 were slaughtered…
I would really like to thank everyone who has been showing their amazing support over the last day or so- it has been difficult to deal with the constant memory of what we saw, but your positive support really makes a difference…

If you would like to find out how else you can help me from wherever you are in the world, please get involved in my Youth Project (more information on my blog page ‘youth project’) which will aim to create positive media awareness worldwide. (Check out my Facebook for this week’s best video entry submitted by Michelle Ferguson with her kids in Westbrook Elementary, Utah!)

Don’t forget to keep sending in your questions to pathtoprotect@hotmail.com for me to answer in my video blogs!

You can follow my videos here on this blogpage (which I will continue to update every day) as well as my Youtube Channel
Also, don’t forget to add me as a friend on Facebook if you haven’t yet- for regular updates, photos, information and videos from the Cove.

If you want to help: Please help us put pressure upon the Japanese government and embassys worldwide- let them know that you oppose the slaughter by calling and emailing.

I want to give a shout out to Thomas Janak, who interviewed me for his global community radio station TCR FM based out of the UK… It was a really positive interview- I’ll be posting the link up very soon!

Thankyou everyone for your continued support, and positive feedback! We all really appreciate it!
On the path to protect,
Nicole.

4 comments

  1. How can we get your infomation to Assoc. Press and main stream media. Our hearts and prayers are with you. Also I feature as many of your stories on my You Tube Page. Love Barbara Clauser

  2. I have a suggestion- I just watched “Blood Dolphins” and they had an ex fisherman from Japan who was involved in the hunts – who had an encounter with a dolphin which in turn he stopped hunting them. He turned his boat into a whale/dolphin watching business. This may be an inspiration to the Japaneese fisherman to jump aboard this type of boat instead of the Taiji killing boats. Hmmm maybe one of thier own can help stop the killings.

    1. Yes! Diane, That is an Excellent Concept that Needs to be Brought Out into the World Conscious Mind. Thanks 4 Reminding us that People Can Change.

      It reminds me of Saul in the Bible, a Profound Persecuter of Jesus, who did an About Face with Divine Intervention…. He Became a Messenger of the Word and a Follower of Christ. Perhaps a Reader does not believe in Jesus, but the Concept of a Change in a Belief with Understanding is True for All People.

      We Must Always Open the heart to Positive Change. I noticed Some People blame all the Japanese People for the Actions of Some. We Must Understand we are All Unique Individuals. Not All Are the Same in Any Culture. Just like, in the United States for Instance, we have Democrats and Republicans. And in both groups there are Individuals who have their own Mind, Dreams & Visions. A Person of a Different Nationality Might Meet a Republican and think, all Americans are Republicans by that Experience. And of Course, that is not so… We Really Cannot Judge One by a Culture or a Group or Vice Versa

  3. Hi Nicole. Can you tell me how far these Dolphins are migrating from? Do they only inhabit Japan waters or are they swimming from further away? ie. other Countries? Please if you can find the answer. Appreciate it very much. Thank you for all your great work!

Leave a Reply

