One Step Closer…

Hopelessness and despair have become emotions that I am all too familiar with since arriving here in Japan… There are times here where everything seems unreal, and that there is little hope for what may lie in the future for the environment, as well as humanity…

However, today was one of those beautiful days where hope and faith in humanity is restored…

I find so much peace in the company of children… their simple minds and big hearts leave so much hope for what the future can hold. Given the right direction and knowledge, the children of today can become ambassadors for a much better tomorrow. Kids are some of the most powerful people on this planet- and the way in which these children are educated today, will determine the fate of the earth and humanity of the next generation. Children will listen if you approach them the right way, the innocence of a child does not know about cruelty, greed, negativity until it is instilled within them…

Today I met some young locals as I visited the park nearby in Katsuura, the neighbouring village to Taiji… The children of the area are absolutely amazing. I went down to the park with Nao, another Cove Guardian. It has been so great having Nao with us here, and she helped me to talk with these young kids about what brings me to their hometown…

After bringing up the Taiji Dolphin Slaughter, Nao and myself soon discovered that these kids had absolutely no idea that only minutes away from their homes, one of the biggest acts of cruelty is being committed to the dolphins of Japan. A young girl amongst the group of children stated that she loves dolphins, and does not want them to be killed!

More and more, we are seeing that even the locals here do not know what is going on just around the corner from them… What hope does the rest of the Japanese people have to know about what is happening in their country, if the townspeople of Taiji and its’ neighbouring villages have no idea…

The hope that a change can occur here in Taiji comes from the spread of awareness about the issue in Japan… especially amongst the youth. Today we educated a handful of Japan’s next generation on the atrocities going on in their areas, who knows what we could achieve tomorrow…

For the third day running now, the banger boats did not leave the harbour due to bad weather conditions… We have been experiencing gale force winds, as well as snow yesterday… let’s hope this blessing of mother nature continues well into the end of the week… make that until the end of the season!

I am starting a project called ‘Helped by Dolphins’ where people can become involved in a video to tell the world their story of a particularly significant encounter with a wild dolphin that they have had… I have received a lot of interest from those who have been helped by dolphins in their lifetimes- from shark attacks, to a life altering spiritual encounter… This video aims to show the world, and the Japanese public, that dolphins in the wild are intelligent, social animals with the power to influence, impact or even save someone’s life… If you have a story, please contact me at pathtoprotect@hotmail.com and I will let you know how to participate in the video!

You may have noticed a few pages on my blog that have been translated. I have been approached by a handful of incredible individuals, who are giving their time to helping me get my message out there to the world… So far, my blog has been translated into German, French and Dutch- and I will soon be having a Japanese translated page! So if you know of anyone from these countries who may be interested in following my journey here, please spread the word! I would like to thank those people who are helping me with my translations, it means a lot.

I really need more videos for my ‘Youth Project’ guys, so if you are someone seeing these videos, reading what happens here, and you want to make a change- and want to help stop the slaughter, please become involved in this project… This is a way of getting everyone to speak up for the dolphins. So please take a look at the details of the project, and send in a video as soon as you can!! The best one for the week will feature on my Facebook page. (Check out my Facebook for this week’s best video entry submitted by Michelle Ferguson with her kids in Westbrook Elementary, Utah!)

Don’t forget to keep sending in your questions to pathtoprotect@hotmail.com for me to answer in my video blogs!

You can follow my videos here on this blogpage (which I will continue to update every day) as well as my Youtube Channel
Also, don’t forget to add me as a friend on Facebook if you haven’t yet- for regular updates, photos, information and videos from the Cove.

If you want to help: Please help us put pressure upon the Japanese government and embassys worldwide- let them know that you oppose the slaughter by calling and emailing.

Thankyou everyone for your continued support, and positive feedback! We all really appreciate it!
On the path to protect,
Nicole.

4 comments

  1. Congratulations, Nicole!

    Keep on doing exactly this! Meet the locals. Today – the kids. Tomorrow – people in the streets. Talking to the Japanese and informing them about the negative effect of the slaughters is one of the active policies that I am recommending in order to stop the killings.

    Good work, keep on being positive.

    Cheers,

    Ivan

  2. Love this video, What you are doing with the youth of Japen and around the world is wonderful,bring awareness to the slaughter, but I have one concern that I have to bring up and that is showing those beautiful childrens faces on camera,I just remember what happen in the movie “The Cove” on how upset some people were that childrens faces were shown without parents permission.(remember the little children eating) I know your smart enough,and thought about that but I just wanted to be sure..I’d hate for this project to go down the drain for a small technicality. .Keep up the Great work your doing,You Amazing!

    1. Hi
      I cried tears of joy when I saw this video, but I do have to admit I am also concerned about showing children on YouTube . I guess you should check on this with Nao and Sea Sheperd lawyers. I know that Japan is becoming more strict about privacy laws. My Japanese husband seems to think it’s ok, but if someone really wants to make trouble for you, they might be able to use this against you. His advice is to check the law just to cover your “butts”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

