Environmental Catastrophe, in Taiji and Abroad…

This morning, a pod of up to 20 Risso’s dolphins were slaughtered in the killing cove of Taiji… Amongst them, was quite a young juvenile- merely a few years old. Not one of these beautiful animals were spared today- as an entire family will never grace the shorelines of Japan again…

The inhumane way in which humans can directly disrupt the world’s environment is absolutely mind blowing. Not only here in Japan, but across the globe. Recently in Canada, one hundred snow dogs (huskies) were brutally slaughtered due to a decrease in the business under which they were forced to work… All over the world we see these unimaginable events of human destruction on the world’s environment…

As I type this, people all over the world are enduring catastrophic natural disasters caused by weather conditions… A large part of Northern America are experiencing blizzards stretching across thousands of kilometres, and back in my home country, millions of people are bracing themselves for one of the biggest natural disasters ever to hit our mainland…

In Northern Queensland at approximately midnight tonight, the biggest cyclone Australia has ever seen, Cyclone Yasi, will hit- causing catastrophic destruction across the state… As many people are now evacuating their homes, or preparing their properties for unbelievable devastation, I want to send my heartfelt thoughts out to all of you who have or will be affected by this disaster. The whole nation will be watching and waiting for news on the magnitude of this destruction- only a few short weeks after the biggest flooding event the country has seen, in South East Queensland.

For all of my friends currently in these areas which may be affected by the cyclone, please know I am thinking of you all over here in Japan- and I hope you all have the strength and courage to overcome any challenges you may face over the next few days. It is during these times which bring out the best in many people, and we must all come together to keep that hope alive.

Many people and millions of animals will have their lives changed forever tonight…

It is news like this which absolutely makes me so incredibly frustrated at the fact that people all over the world continue to knowingly destroy the world’s natural environment… Over the next few days, millions of animals will perish in the cyclone, and much of the northern parts of the Great Barrier Reef will have changed forever- some will be completely destroyed. More than ever, we need to be aware of the incredible impact we as a species are making on this planet… climate change is a very significant event which is occurring all over the world- there is no better time than today to start making conscious decisions about how to live in a more environmentally-friendly way… the state of the Earth and it’s animals both marine and terrestrial depend on it.

    ~~~~~~~~~~

If you want to stand up and help us end the slaughter here in Taiji: Please help us put pressure upon the Japanese government and embassys worldwide- let them know that you oppose the slaughter by calling and emailing. Also, please become involved in my ‘Youth Project’ and tell your friends!

Don’t forget to keep sending in your questions to pathtoprotect@hotmail.com for me to answer in my video blogs!

You can follow my videos here on this blogpage (which I will continue to update every day) as well as my Youtube Channel
Also, don’t forget to add me as a friend on Facebook if you haven’t yet- for regular updates, photos, information and videos from the Cove.

Thankyou everyone for your continued support, and positive feedback! We all really appreciate it!
On the path to protect,
Nicole.

5 comments

  1. Nicole,
    I don’t know where you find the courage to remain passive. I know I could not. Keep up the great work.
    Michael

  2. So sorry its been such a rough day today. I saw the cyclone on the weather report earlier today while I was looking to see how bad the blizzard was as I have family in the US in Illinois. My sister in law was trapped at work but everyone is doing alright. Australia has been really hard hit by the weather recently as have parts of the US. There are also so many ugly things going on in the world right now and you are there witnessing one of those terrible ugly things.
    Try and take care of yourself and keep some positive thoughts to counter the horrors that surrounds you.

  3. I hope your home country will be alright and everyone will pull through! Thank you for mentioning the North of the USA. I live in the Southeast but parts of Texas and Oklahoma have gotten slammed by snow as well.

    Its times like these that people need to take their blinders off and realize whats going on around here, that WE are the ones causing all of this and only WE can fix it!

    Thanks for your words Nicole,

    Rebecca

  4. Nicole, you are a warrior, you are so great. Thanks for all. I will try to visit Taiji soon. It’s very important for me. I know the Barrier Reef, I was there 2 times. It’s a dream.
    Yes our world is in trouble and we have to fight for the animal rights and rules.
    I send you blessing, protection and ocean hugs from Germany. Take care of you.
    Claudi

  5. Thank you Nicole..I’m in Michigan, where we got about a foot or more of snow!
    But that is NOTHING compared to what is going on in Australia. My heart goes out to
    you and your family/friends! I will keep you all in my thoughts and prayers!
    And then there is Taiji! I will NEVER give up on trying to make a change!
    Some days are really hard and I cry a lot. But I could NEVER NOT check Face Book
    to see what happens. I am there for the long haul, if that is what it’s going to take!!!
    And I’ll be there in Sept/Oct 2011!!!!

Leave a Reply

