Passion, Strength and Courage…

Today was the second peaceful and slaughter-free day here in Taiji in a row… and with days like these, it gives you the time and mindset to start reflecting on your time here, and your purpose…

I have been striving to do something like this for a long time- to actively follow my passion for marine conservation. I can’t remember a time where I didn’t envision myself being motivated to save the lives of dolphins and whales, whilst learning as much as I can about them.

I knew the road was a tough one. I knew that in order to ‘wear your heart on your sleeve’ by going after the one thing you are most passionate about would be the most challenging thing I could ever do… There are times where it is a little rough- but in the end, to fight for the thing you believe in above anything is the most rewarding thing of all.

To try and convey to others about what happens to our world’s oceans and marine life is a hard task. Either it is difficult to express the magnitude of the problem, or it is hard to maintain or even gain focus and attention about it… In a society where a majority of the world are preoccupied and encased in a world full of car payments, shopping malls and business suits, it can sometimes be frustrating or disheartening to continue fighting…

I recently received a few emails which had an impact on me… One from Corinne which contained the following quote;

“Never, never be afraid to do what’s right, especially if the well-being of a person or animal is at stake. Society’s punishments are small compared to the wounds we inflict on our soul when we look the other way.”
— Martin Luther King Jr

The other, a story of a family dedicated to spreading awareness about the issue in Japan- especially about a brave young boy…
A lady named April contacted me recently, expressing her children’s enthusiasm to become involved in my Youth Project. Living in France, April her husband, daughter and son have decided to send the message out to the children in April’s kids’ local schools… They have organised an event on Sunday February 6th in which they will shoot a video with as many children as they can to send the message “Save the Dolphins of Taiji” in both English and French…

As a young boy who lives with Aspergers, Luc (April’s son) sometimes finds it difficult to communicate to his peers. He is determined, however to spread the word- so Luc has been walking all over his local area handing out flyers and pamphlets which advertise their day for the dolphins on Sunday… April recently contacted me explaining how Luc has been having a difficult time approaching other kids about the issue…

This is my message for you, Luc.
Sometimes it is a little bit hard to find the courage to stand up for what you believe in… sometimes people don’t understand, and sometimes they are not so nice about it. Just always remember why you are doing it- and people will take notice. When you express your ideas with passion, people listen to you- no matter how old you are… There will always be a couple people who disagree with you, but just remember that the most influential and amazing people on this earth had their critics too…
You are doing an amazing thing, and are so brave. Keep your head up, because if you continue with passion, you will make a difference.

Thank you to everyone who has supported me over my time here so far. I know I say it a lot- but it truly does make a huge difference in our day… and stories such as Aprils are absolutely inspiring. The support from everyone reading these blogs and following my Facebook is incredible, as is the courage and strength I am able to draw from my fellow Cove Guardians here- past and present. The last few days have been pretty rough and emotional for us all, with all of us dealing with our own personal tribulations- but we all manage to pull together through the positive support for each other. I couldn’t do this without them.

Please, leave your messages of support for Luc, April and their family here… and if you have a story about following your passion, I would love to hear about it! You can email me at pathtoprotect@hotmail.com

If you want to stand up and help us end the slaughter: Please help us put pressure upon the Japanese government and embassys worldwide- let them know that you oppose the slaughter by calling and emailing. Also, please become involved in my ‘Youth Project’ and tell your friends!

Don’t forget to keep sending in your questions to pathtoprotect@hotmail.com for me to answer in my video blogs!

You can follow my videos here on this blogpage (which I will continue to update every day) as well as my Youtube Channel
Also, don’t forget to add me as a friend on Facebook if you haven’t yet- for regular updates, photos, information and videos from the Cove.

Thankyou everyone for your continued support, and positive feedback! We all really appreciate it!
On the path to protect,
Nicole.

14 comments

  1. Hi Nicole,

    I’m french citizen and really passionated by dolphin. I knot what happen to Taiji and it’s unbelievable, cruel but true! I really don’t know what the humans have in their head, so grasping and insensible. I’ve cried many times and still while I’m watching vidéos from Taiji. Every day i think about that and ask to myself : “How many dolphins will be killed today?”.

    So, I have somes questions about your mission as “Cove Guardian”, by the way, you are making a great job, I’m happy to know that there is people in the Wordls like me that wants to change the World and save animals.

    So, I’m looking forward to come in Australia from septembre 2011 with a “HWH” (Holyday working holydays) with my boyfriend. We expect to stay there at least one year but may more. Australia is not to far from Japan (France more), so may after the 1st years in OZ it will possible to come in Japan for one months (or more) and become Cove Guardian. I really have this project in my mind and I hope it will become possible.

    So, I would like to know :

    How you can live for three months in Japan without work, or hearn money ?
    How much it cost to stay there (sleepin, eating, etc)?
    There is already a place to go for sleeping?
    What do you expect to do when you come back at home?

    I’m waiting for your news,

    For the Océans

    Pascale

  2. The quote above by Martin Luther King is a very touching one- Nicole, your work as a Cove Guardian is an inspiration to countless young people- It amplfys the good our youth of today are doing in this complex world of ours.. you are setting an excellent example- Instead of hearing about all of the negative aspects of young people in today’s society, it is so good to hear about your work here in Taiji- You have witnessed more tragedy, turmoil and heartbreak than most people will do in a lifetime- Yet, you strive on doing whatever you can to lighten the burden of those aroound you who are dedicated to this cause- Thank you

  3. Bravo! for following your heart and having such courage to stand up for what you believe is right. I wish I had your strength.

    We do care about your cause and I am teaching my kids about the reality about what is happening to the beloved creatures of our ocean. Once I didn’t want to believe something this evil could happen but I have accepted it and change my life style by not buying Japanese products and educated my friends about aquariums with live whales and dolphines.

    You are making a difference! Thank you.

  4. Thank you so much Nicole, we think you are such a wonderful, amazing person. We will do our best to make an awesome video for you and for our friends in the sea. I went to Luc’s school today with him and the kids seem very excited so I hope they will come out on Sunday. I will read your message to Luc as soon as he gets home from school. Hopefully I can do it without crying ;).

    1. April, un grand bravo pour vos efforts et ceux de votre fils Luc!
      Je suis heureuse de voir qu’en France aussi on s’intéresse à cette cause, et qu’on y croit 🙂
      Je vous souhaite bon courage pour demain, d’ailleurs dans quelle région êtes-vous?
      A bientôt xxx

      1. Merci pour vos encouragements. J’habite pres de Villefranche sur Saone.
        Note: Ce message est ecrit par mon mari qui est Francais car je suis americaine et ne parle pas encore beaucoup Francais.

      2. Dear April,

        I wish there could be more people like you and your family around here in Paris, the kids need to open their mouth and shout against this senseless slaughter!

        Anyway, once again good luck for your project and well done to your son, you can be very proud of him, and I agree Ric O’Barry and Paul Watson are great role models! 🙂

        Take care x

  5. April,

    You must be so proud of Luc! He sounds like a fantastic young man. I believe – wholeheartedly – that the children are our future. I am proud to have my future in the hands of your son.

    1. Thank you Sandy. We believe he is going to grow up and do great things. He is such an intelligent, loving little boy. He says he wants to be just like Ric O’Barry and Captain Watson!

  6. Nicole, I admire and have great respect for you, and appreciate everything that you are doing. Including your daily blogs, photos, videos, etc…
    I loved your encouraging letter to Luc.

    To Luc,
    You are a very brave boy for being determined to spread the word about the dolphins! Good for you. Just remember that you are making a difference for those dolphins and other kids should look up to you for that. I can’t wait to see the video that you and your family and friends make!

    Leslie

  7. Dear Luc,

    I understand very well what you and your mother are going through with your fight for the dolphins. My daughter fights for the whales & the dolphins, too. She is a young teenager and her peers are not always the most open-minded or mature group either. While it does on occasion get to her and she gets frustrated and upset, she always reminds herself that if she won’t stand up and fight for those that have no voice amongst us, then who will? You are a very brave young man who’s heart is as big as the sky! It takes an awful lot of courage to stand up for something that you believe in and to keep standing up for it, especially when faced with adversity, says so much about the strength of your spirit. You keep up the good fight, Luc! You are a mighty dolphin warrior and they love that you are fighting for them. So many people are so very, very proud of you. You and your family are in our prayers always!

  8. Nicole, I am very happy to hear that I made an impact on you. Thats touching. You and all of the cove guardians are the ones that make an impact on us. And Luc is a perfect example of your inspiration.. I am so amazed to hear the story of luc and what he has planned to do. That is something that i think would be amazing to see. This is hopefully what we will see more and more of around the world. Keep up the good work.
    You guys are doing awesome. Keep hanging in there. I know you will, because like i said, You guys have strength that is unbelievable.

Leave a Reply

