Relief and Reflection…

We have described it time and time again, but the intense relief and happiness we feel as we round the corner toward Taiji Harbour and discover that the banger boats have not left for a dolphin hunt is almost unsurpassable. The only feeling that is better, personally, is seeing the banger boats returning unsuccessfully-after having wasted precious resources after a long morning out at sea… The numbers significantly depict a season which can only be described as disappointing for the dolphin hunters- they have not yet exceeded 700 dolphins being killed, with just over a month and a half left in the season… Of course, this is not necessarily a reason for us to be celebrating- as these numbers could really signify the fact that the oceans of Japan are being heavily depleted of dolphin populations…

After leaving the harbour and counting all 12 banger boats in for the day, we decided to pay an early morning visit to Dolphin Base… in the extremely cold air, we stood watching over the captive pens out in the water, a sight that never fails to thoroughly disturb each and every one of us… please stay tuned for footage that we captured this morning that we will be editing and adding on, and uploading within the next few days- showing a greater insight into the nightmare these dolphins endure each day…

Having been here in Japan now for about 9 weeks, it is a strange feeling to reflect on my time here… though it seems as though my mind has been tending to do so more regularly these days. With only three weeks to go, it seems as though my time here has flown by… however at the same time it feels like I have been here for years. However with the outlook I have gained here, and the motivation to continue down a path of marine conservation- the past few months have seemed like the beginning of my journey, the beginning of the rest of my life.

At the moment, I really need plenty more videos and photos for my Youth Project. This is a really simple way to get involved guys, and these videos will hopefully make a big impact on a larger audience! It could be something as simple as recording a video from your very own living room, or create an event to get your local community involved! I am planning on accumulating these videos over a longer period of time now (at least one or two months longer), as I have had a few more ideas on how I would like to use them… all the plans will be explained a little later- however I am currently working on ways in which to present this video along with a talk to schools, universities and other events back at home in Australia and hopefully back here in Japan in a few months time. But more on that later- if you are interested in getting involved, please click on the link below where you can find out all the information you need! If you are planning a video and have any questions, comments or ideas you would like to let me know about, please email me at pathtoprotect@hotmail.com and I will get back to you as soon as I can!

If you want to stand up and help us end the slaughter: Please help us put pressure upon the Japanese government and embassys worldwide- let them know that you oppose the slaughter by calling and emailing. Also, please become involved in my ‘Youth Project’ and tell your friends!

Don’t forget to keep sending in your questions to pathtoprotect@hotmail.com for me to answer in my video blogs! (I will be filming another video blog tomorrow! Sorry it’s been a little while guys..)

You can follow my videos here on this blogpage (which I will continue to update every day) as well as my Youtube Channel
Also, don’t forget to add me as a friend on Facebook if you haven’t yet- for regular updates, photos, information and videos from the Cove.

Thankyou everyone for your continued support, and positive feedback! We all really appreciate it!
On the path to protect,
Nicole.

3 comments

  1. Nicole, thanks for all what are you doing. To watch the videos breaks my heart every day. I can’t understand this cruelty. I pray for you and your protection. You are a great warrior. Send you Love, light and a lot of ocean hugs. Take care . Blessings Claudi

  2. i am looking forward to that time where day after day after day the cove guardians see no banger boats for week after week after week.then tourists see people swimming in the cove and the rare pod further out frolicking freely with no collective memory or fear of man.Oh happy day.

Leave a Reply

