What Will You Do?

After 6 days without a slaughter in Taiji, this morning we were once again reminded of the routine brutality and cruelty inflicted upon innocent creatures by the Taiji fishermen… 25 Bottlenose dolphins were slaughtered this morning within the jagged cliff-face of the killing cove of Taiji. These serrated cliffs have hidden this secret from the world for so long, and now all that is hiding this destruction of the environment from our cameras- and the world- is manmade blue and green tarpaulins…

We awoke early in the morning, and Libby, Thomas and myself drove straight to Taiji… Sheri left us yesterday during a tearful farewell- so this morning there was just the three of us on our morning drive to Taiji. We discovered that the boats were out, and resumed our position on top of Mountain Pass. After having become almost accustom to seeing the boats returning within a few hours over the past few days, we all felt a sudden jolt of contempt when we noticed them edging around the point in formation- the silence that encases us during a slaughter came into effect immediately. It was within a half an hour that we identified the dolphins as Bottlenose dolphins… the pod was quite large.

We drove to the Cove as the banger boats passed by the mouth of the harbour and were already on their way closer to the area where the dolphins would all take their last terrified breath…

Soon after we arrived at the cove, I decided to head straight up to Glenda’s Hill, to get a better look at how many dolphins were in the pod. I climbed the staircase that I now know too well- and reached the top. I realised that it was the first time I had ever been up on top of that hill completely alone… it was an eerie feeling, as that hill is where I have seen things that I will spend the rest of my life fighting so that soon no-one will ever have to witness it… That hill, for me, just reminds me of how cruel and barbaric the human race can be… and also how blind they can be to just how much damage they are inflicting upon the environment, and how inhumane their actions are. Sometimes it is hard to see the hope in humanity when you witness something like that, and realise that it all comes down to money… the root of all evil in Taiji.

Our oceans are continuing in their state of collapse… soon there may be nothing left. It is time for us to stand up and fight for a better future- it is time we all take responsibility for the detrimental actions of humankind… time is running out.

Please, watch this video below- and show it to as many people as you can. It is time we were all a little more concerned about what is happening to our oceans… before it is too late. What will you do to help protect the oceans and your childrens’ future…?

As our time is running shorter and shorter here in Japan, we are still welcoming new Cove Guardians to our company. Today we met Greg and Georgia from Australia… to try and sustain a bit of normality in our lives here, we try and go out for dinner every so often- so tonight we all went out to get to know the newcomers a little better, and to cast our minds away from the blood-stained cove in Taiji for a few hours…

This afternoon, I gave an interview for a radio station in Sydney, Australia which went really well! I will post it here on my blog and my new Media section also in a few days… I will also attach a link to my blog within the next few days so those of you in Sydney will be able to listen live on Sunday…

If you want to stand up and help us end the slaughter: Please help us put pressure upon the Japanese government and embassys worldwide- let them know that you oppose the slaughter by calling and emailing. Also, please become involved in my ‘Youth Project’ and tell your friends! Or send me an email if you wish to get more involved…
To become a Cove Guardian, please email Libby at:
coveguardian@seashepherd.org

Don’t forget to keep sending in your questions to pathtoprotect@hotmail.com for me to answer in my video blogs!

You can follow my videos here on this blogpage (which I will continue to update every day) as well as my Youtube Channel
Also, don’t forget to add me as a friend on Facebook if you haven’t yet- for regular updates, photos, information and videos from the Cove.

Thankyou everyone for your continued support, and positive feedback! We all really appreciate it!
On the path to protect,
Nicole.

2 comments

  1. it is hard to be back in reality. it was a good time for me too. Me I watched this all from a big distance and now to read that again so many dolphins where butchered for japanese dinner tables. My anger and my sadness is back… they will eat all dolphins till the last one is gone. I said it a lot of times… for me is Taiji the home of the living devil!

  2. having a little cry for the planet.do you guys(guardians)get any psychological debriefing/support when you return?Look after your health.I am thinking we should set up something for you all.This is a very serious,sad thing you are doing .I will contribute to ensuring this happens.(even a little pleasant break in Byron Shire could be arranged)Any professioals with ideas?grief counselling?
    Sorry if this is heavy but latest news has affected me today,very deeply.
    Praying for fog.
    heb

Leave a Reply

