Rainy Days in Taiji…

“Is there some principal of nature which states that we never know the quality of what we have until it is gone?”
Herman Melville

Heading out to Taiji this morning, we were encouraged by the sight of the overcast sky, as well as a slight drizzle of rain that had developed as we neared the town… We arrived at the harbour, and discovered that all the dolphin hunting boats were in for the morning!

After Tuesday’s confusion, where the dolphin hunting boats left later than usual, we decided to wait up on top of the Mountain Pass, to overlook the harbour and decipher any movements down at the Fisheries Union… After about an hour, we saw a few skiffs load up divers and dolphin fishermen, and drove them out to the ocean pens- where up to approximately 50 dolphins reside; waiting to be transported to a dolphinarium somewhere in the world.

After watching their movements for another hour or so, we saw them transport one of the newly captured Pacific White Sided dolphins from one pen to another nearby… They took one out of a pen filled with six dolphins, and moved it into one with four dolphins. Whether this is to balance out the numbers amongst the pens- or whether it will coincide with a dolphinariums’ order in the near future… only time will tell.

The rain here and in Taiji has progressively increased- and as I type this, the rain continues to beat down hard at our windows… it has clearly set in for the night. Hopefully in the early hours of tomorrow morning, the rain will be present once more- and will yet again hinder the dolphin hunters from taking any more of these amazing creatures out of our oceans…

Today I was able to chat with a dear friend back home in Australia, Isabel’s, dad via Skype and have been kindly invited to talk at a fundraising event that Isabel is organising a few months after my return home. Isabel is an amazing example of how young people can make a difference- she is only 8 years old and has accomplished so much! She is passionate about protecting wildlife, and especially our oceans, and is a fantastic ambassador for these causes… I am really looking forward to talking at the event in Brisbane, Australia- and will give you all more details as the event draws closer!

Once again guys, if you think your school or university in the QLD, NSW and VIC areas may be interested in having me come and present a talk about my experiences here, and marine conservation- I would love to hear from you! Please send me an email- as I am really committed to spreading the word out there to as many people as possible!

I am determined to motivate the youth to raise their voice about protecting our oceans’ wildlife, and letting them know that they can make a difference… with their future at risk. I am hoping to attend this year’s International Whaling Commission meeting in the U.K in July in order to give a voice to the millions of young people who are against the slaughter of cetaceans worldwide. In order to accomplish this, however, I am in need of assistance in order to travel and stay there. Recently I became aware of a competition of sorts that a Queensland-based company is holding; with a prize of $5,000 to the winner… the competition is open to those who are seeking to make a difference- so I submitted my story of aiming to attend the IWC in 2011. My entry was accepted by the company, and now I need your help! Please, have a look at my profile by clicking HERE, and click on ‘Like’ to vote for me… Thank you to everyone who has supported me in this so far, it really does mean a lot!

If you want to stand up and help us end the slaughter: Please help us put pressure upon the Japanese government and embassys worldwide- let them know that you oppose the slaughter by calling and emailing. Also, please become involved in my ‘Youth Project’ and tell your friends! Or send me an email if you wish to get more involved…
To become a Cove Guardian, please email Libby at:
coveguardian@seashepherd.org

I have recently created a page on Twitter, to share my updates a little easier with you all. So please follow the page for more updates and photos during the day from here in Taiji…

Don’t forget to keep emailing your questions and comments to me at pathtoprotect@hotmail.com!

You can follow my videos here on this blogpage as well as my Youtube Channel
Also, don’t forget to add me as a friend on Facebook if you haven’t yet- for regular updates, photos, information and videos from the Cove.

Thankyou everyone for your continued support, and positive feedback! We all really appreciate it!
On the path to protect,
Nicole.

One comment

  1. Hi Nicole!
    Thank you for the wonderful work you are doing for the dolphins and other animals. I truly believe it is your generation that will put a final end to the captivity trade. I have a 17 year old daughter and a 23 year old son. They have both seen The Cove and have been active in spreading the word to their peers and volunteering with me at protests. My daughter just recently educated a friend who was going to go to Sea World last week…she went to Disneyland instead! It’s wonderful to see these small changes because every small change adds up to one big one eventually! 🙂

Leave a Reply

