No Boats and a Birthday!

As we gazed out of our car windows at the ocean this morning as we drove along the stretch of coast on the way to Taiji, we were delighted with what we saw… Yesterday’s swell out at sea had increased, and the conditions on the water were some of the roughest I had seen in the past few months. This was fantastic news as today we were able to celebrate Libby’s birthday with a little more cheer as we also celebrated the dolphin-free cove!

We returned to our hotel a little while later, convinced that the banger boats would not dare to venture out to sea with such high seas, and went out for a very pleasant lunch at one of our favourite nearby restaurants… followed by a stroll along the harbour of Katsuura to the hot springs/ foot baths. We relaxed and spoke about what was to come during our next chapter… today marks exactly one week left for Libby and I here in Taiji. The time has absolutely flown by- however at the same time, I feel as though I have been here for years.

Tonight we had an absolutely amazing conversation with the extremely kind ladies that run our hotel (with translation help from our fellow cove guardian, Annie!)… They gave Libby and I flowers for our birthdays, and one of the ladies was explaining to us how she had grown up in this area her whole life of just over 50 years, and never had any idea of exactly what goes on in Taiji… After having met us and learning about why we have come here, she now understands what goes on in Taiji and why we want it to stop. She said that recently, she actually went online and researched for herself all about the slaughter- and others around Japan… she said this was the first time she had ever done any research online! She was so interested in the topic, and explained to us that the youth of Japan should be our focus when trying to communicate to the public here… many of the older generations are very resolute about the issue, as a portion of them have grown up their whole lives eating dolphin meat. She said that now, however, people know that there are far better and healthier options, and younger generations are not interested… It was absolutely wonderful to have her support and views on the subject, and I am even more determined now to take as many lessons in Japanese as I can in order to learn the language a lot better before I return later on this year.

I have been busying myself in our down time by preparing for my return home to Australia… I want to create awareness in any way I can- and those of you who follow my blogs know that I am undertaking a tour for school children in March, to educate them on marine conservation. I have confirmed with a handful of schools now along the East Coast of Australia, and am currently working with a few others who are helping me talk at some schools in Melbourne also! In early March, I am also looking to attend a meeting about the issue of sea turtle conservation in Northern QLD, Australia, with a few really great organisations and individuals in Brisbane…

What I really need for a lot of my awareness projects in the next few months are video entries similar to my ‘Youth Project’ concept… Of course, it is amazing to get younger people involved in having their say- however I would love to see everyone who are passionate about ending the slaughter send in a 10-20 second video about ‘Saving the dolphins of Taiji’… This is going to be an aspect of my talks, and the upcoming events that will hopefully really reach out to people who may not know what goes on in Taiji. The passion of individuals is a powerful thing, and this is a way to channel that passion into one outlet…
Please, contact my email address at pathtoprotect@hotmail.com for more information, or if you have any questions!

Please make sure you keep updated on my blog page about our upcoming events and ideas!

If you want to stand up and help us end the slaughter: Please help us put pressure upon the Japanese government and embassys worldwide- let them know that you oppose the slaughter by calling and emailing. Also, please become involved in my ‘Youth Project’ and tell your friends! Or send me an email if you wish to get more involved…
To become a Cove Guardian, please email Libby at:
coveguardian@seashepherd.org

I have recently created a page on Twitter, to share my updates a little easier with you all. So please follow the page for more updates and photos during the day from here in Taiji…

Don’t forget to keep emailing your questions and comments to me at pathtoprotect@hotmail.com!

You can follow my videos here on this blogpage as well as my Youtube Channel
Also, don’t forget to add me as a friend on Facebook if you haven’t yet- for regular updates, photos, information and videos from the Cove.

Thankyou everyone for your continued support, and positive feedback! We all really appreciate it!
On the path to protect,
Nicole.

2 comments

  1. Education is really the key to getting all this stopped. Everything from the slaughters to the captivity. its great that you can have someone to translate for you so you can talk to people. Living here in France its frustrating to me that I cant talk to people so I understand how hard it is when you really want to tell people something and they dont understand you. Your plans for the future are well thought out and will make a difference, Nicole. We are all behind you and to the rest of the cove guardians, thank you so much for all that you do. So Glad Libby could have a dolphin free birthday. They swim by Taiji wild and happy :)!

  2. Nicole
    I read very recently an article about primary school in Japan in regards to their music curriclum. Children turn away from music very early on as it is taught only towards performing a concert for parents and family.

    As they turn away from music they also turn off their inner life too. This makes me think that music might be a way back into their feeling (soul) life.
    Could this be a (the) way to truly ‘see’ and understand the world of dolphins for the young people of Japan?
    Happy Birtday to Libby – you both are wonderfull bright young people.

Leave a Reply

