The Fight Continues…

Being some of the first to report on the dolphin hunting seasons’ end here in Taiji, us cove guardians were anxious this morning to venture out to the small coastal town to obtain a 100% confirmation… we arrived at the harbour just like I have done time and time again in the last three months, and were absolutely delighted to see that the banger boats were securely bobbing around in the water, with their banging poles nowhere in sight. We could not help but grin widely this morning- knowing that the dolphins passing by Taiji today will be spared from the horrors in the killing cove…

As some of the fishermen prepare for another ‘off-season’ of offshore whaling within the next few months- targeting whales and smaller cetaceans- there are still hunts occurring throughout other coastal towns of Japan. The largest cetacean hunt of all here being the Dall’s porpoise hunt in Northern Japan… this hunt sees the slaughter of many more cetaceans than Taiji even- however it is conducted offshore. This is something that cannot go unnoticed, and the pressure applied to the Japanese Government must continue as significantly as ever before.

The conservation of marine wildlife is something that I decided to dedicate my life to a long time ago… With the seemingly never-ending list of threats affecting our oceans in modern times, the fight is never over- the ‘war’ is never won. Until we can rest assured that our oceans are no longer seeing the devastating effects of human intervention… unfortunately, this is a fight that will likely last for generations from now.

I will be leaving Taiji in two days with a much richer knowledge and passion for marine conservation than I began with… I will not discontinue my work for marine conservation for the six months in between Taiji Dolphin Slaughters. I have been gathering ideas and making plans for my return to Australia for months now, and will share my journey with you every step of the way.

I will be continuing this blog when I return home, hopefully updating as frequently as I have here in Taiji… My main focus upon my return is my up-coming School Tour in Australia. So far I have confirmed to talk at a number of schools, predominately in the Newcastle and Melbourne areas. My first talk will be on the 14th of March at Lambton High in NSW, and I will upload all the videos here!


Over the next few months, I will take advantage of my time in Australia by working on some of the marine conservation issues affecting wildlife around Australian waters… Once again, I will share all of my endeavours here on my blog page as they develop.

As I begin to pack my bags and empty the comfortable hotel room which has doubled as my home for the past three months, I look forward to what is in store for me in the future… I have met so many amazing people during my time here in Japan, and have secured some fantastic contacts to help in my future of protecting marine wildlife… In my blog tomorrow, I will go over my journey here in Taiji, covering all the events and people that have made such a significant impact on my life in only a few months…

Referring to something that Andy said in one of our videos last month… Have a look at what we achieved in three months- and imagine what we can do in three years.

~~~

If you want to stand up and help us end the slaughter for good: Please help us put pressure upon the Japanese government and embassys worldwide- let them know that you oppose the slaughter by calling and emailing. Also, please become involved in my ‘Youth Project’ and tell your friends! Or send me an email if you wish to get more involved…

Don’t forget to keep emailing any questions and comments to me at pathtoprotect@hotmail.com!

You can follow my videos here on this blogpage as well as my Youtube Channel
Also, don’t forget to add me as a friend on Facebook if you haven’t yet- for regular updates, photos, information and videos!

To find out more information on marine conservation, head to: http://www.seashepherd.org

Thankyou everyone for your continued support, and positive feedback! We all really appreciate it!
On the path to protect,
Nicole.

11 comments

  1. Safe travels to you my friend. You are a blessing for the dolphins and an inspiration to children and adults all over the world. Stay in touch. We at Save Misty the Dolphin will continue to do everything we can to support the vulnerable dolphins of Taiji and worldwide.

  2. Thank you so much, dear Nicole. I have read your informations about Taiji and the dolphins each day. And I have handed these informations to my German website readers.

    I wish you a very good journey to Australia and many power to fight furthermore for the dolphins …

  3. Thank you Nicole, you have taught me so much. And your dedication to the Dolphins is remarkable. I wish you a safe trip home. Good luck in everything you do. You are the future. Your friend Cynthia.;)

  4. Have a safe journey home & thank-you for all the information you have shared with us, i have loved reading your blog love to you & the dolphins xx

  5. Nicole: Thanks for all you do and have done for the dolphins in Taiji. You are an inspiration to all people world-wide. I also have followed the daily guardian reports and this blog as well and while many reports were tragic, they also provided hope…hope that each and every individual who advocates for the dolphins, will indeed make a difference. I wish you all the best in your future endeavors and will undoubtedly follow your blog once you leave Taiji. God bless you!!

  6. Thanks for what you blokes have done. You should gte Australian of the Year award (but that’ll prob go to some useless sportsperson or singer). Keep us undated with what you are doing in the off season.

  7. Dear Nicole and Cove Guardians…Many ,many thanks to you and all of your pals/COVE GUARDIANS for your spirit, dedication and commitment to what was not always a pleasant task! You have shown us all what it is possible to do when you just say “YES, I can do that”….I wish you all the very best in your ventures between now and September! We are grateful to you for the exposure of the bloody season in Taiji!

    Much love and good fortune!!
    Always for the animals of our Earth!

  8. Thank you Nicole, Libby and all the Cove Guardians who stood and faced the slaughter of these beautiful, intelligentt creatures to bring it to the world’s attention, and you have! Bravo. One day there will be an end. It is amazing that one person can make a difference imagine what many can do!

  9. Thanks Nicole for all what you are doing. For all the reports and videos.
    I wish you a safe return in my dreamland and success. You are a warrior and all my respect.
    Blessings, protections and Love always . Namaste Nicole Ocean hugs.

Leave a Reply

