Arriving Home…

Yesterday morning, the time came for Libby and I to leave Taiji… We woke up and hastily finished all of our last minute rummaging in our bags, and soon enough- we were closing the doors of our bedrooms which were like homes to us for the past three months. We said ‘see you later’ instead of ‘goodbye’ to the hotel lady with big hugs all around- and left for the train station…

Sitting at the train station, all packed and ready to leave… it didn’t feel real. It didn’t feel like we were actually leaving, and to be honest, it still doesn’t feel as though it will be months before setting foot into Taiji again… The train ride was very slow, as the time seemed to draw out for as long as possible… however we did accidentally hop onto the wrong train just before Osaka, which left us a little wide-eyed after we realised, and spent an hour getting back on track!

The wait at the airport was the hardest wait I’ve ever endured… To draw out such an already sad goodbye between Libby and I was heartwrenching, and by the time we had to actually part- we both didn’t want to let go of our last hug!

We have spent almost every waking hour with eachother in the past three months, we’ve shared some of the biggest emotional highs and lows together- and have formed an amazing friendship because of that… I don’t think I could have endured three months of life in Taiji if it weren’t for the support and friendship that Libby gave me. She is such an amazing and inspiring person- and I have felt honoured to fight in this campaign alongside her the whole time!

Soon after we parted, I made my way to my Gate- bound for Australia… I met two really nice Aussies and chatted to them during the wait to board the plane- all about our vastly different trips in Japan… It was then time to board the plane, and after almost 9 hours and many broken sleeps… I was back home on Australian soil!

My first stop back home was the beach! I jumped in the warm water as soon as I could, and spent hours just taking everything in… it feels so incredibly strange to be back in Australia, there is a whole lot I am going to have to get used to again here- in particular the heat!

Taking today to really enjoy being home has been great… I think the relief and somewhat comfort I can take in the fact that the dolphin hunting season is over for the year has made the transition a little easier than it could have been… But being away from Taiji has just made me feel like I want to do more for the oceans, I want to be out there creating changes and making a difference!

So far, I have just under 10 schools which are interested in having me come and give a presentation to their students about my experience, and also marine conservation as a whole… I’m currently busy finishing the plans for my presentation which I will be giving- which I will definitely film and add here!
Thankyou everyone who has sent me very kind messages in the past few days! I am reading them all, and I appreciate the words from every one of you! 🙂

~~~~~

If you want to continue to stand up and help us end the slaughters of cetaceans in Japan for good: Please help us put pressure upon the Japanese government and embassys worldwide- let them know that you oppose the slaughter by calling and emailing. Also, please become involved in my ‘Youth Project’ and tell your friends! Or send me an email if you wish to get more involved…

Don’t forget to keep emailing any questions and comments to me at pathtoprotect@hotmail.com! Also, please vote for me to attend this year’s IWC meeting here.

You can follow my videos here on this blogpage as well as my Youtube Channel
Also, don’t forget to add me as a friend on Facebook if you haven’t yet- for regular updates, photos, information and videos!

To find out more information on marine conservation, head to: http://www.seashepherd.org

Thankyou everyone for your continued support, and positive feedback! We all really appreciate it!
On the path to protect,
Nicole.

4 comments

  1. Aww, I’m so glad you got home safely! Libby is an amazing and inspiring person, I completely agree! Good luck with your Aussie school travels and presentations! I will continue to follow your blog and everything you do because as we are both twenty years of age, we are the future of this Earth! 😀

  2. Just wanted to let you know how much I have enjoyed following your life for the past 3 months. Please continue to fight the good fight for the oceans of the world for my generation , which has caused alot of the problems, of the world have to leave your generation to correct these problems for your children and grandchildren to enjoy this world as it was meant to be. Thank you Nicole and may GOD continue to bless you and help you with this fight.

Leave a Reply

