Back to Reality…

Life back home in Australia has been a little difficult to get used to since returning a few days ago from Taiji… Not only are the obvious things different, such as the much warmer climate and the fact that I no longer have to converse with most people in disjointed Japanese, but I have noticed a few other vast changes since returning home…

As I have previously mentioned, being in Taiji has completely altered my life, my way of thinking, and really gave me a much more profound perspective on life and priorities… When I was in Japan, I had people around me who were experiencing the exact same things, as we learned from eachother. I am now learning how to transition myself back into reality, whilst keeping in mind all of the lessons I have learnt. The hardest thing I have found is trying to convey to people back home exactly what it was like in Taiji- and have found that this is virtually impossible… along with that, I’ve found that I am no longer caught up with every-day stresses and issues that, in the wider scheme of things, aren’t of huge importance.

I’ve been really busying myself with preparing my school talks, which will begin in a week’s time… Also, in a few days I am intending on embarking upon a trip out along the beaches of the Gold Coast (one of the biggest tourist-areas in Australia), to gather footage to hopefully bring attention to the dire issue of shark netting and bait hooking along the coast here… Humankind’s irrational fear of sharks really saddens me, as people have been deprived of the love and respect that we all should have had for these magnificent creatures… The fact that you’re more likely to be killed by a vending machine, ostrich attack, coconut tree or a bolt of lightening escapes most people’s minds. In fact, only three fatal shark attacks have been recorded on Gold Coast beaches in over one hundred years… the last one back in 1964. The nets were implemented in the 1960’s… therefore there was only two fatal attacks in over 60 years without the nets.

Yet an average of over 600 sharks and marine animals such as rays, turtles and even dolphins and migrating whales are killed each year in these nets and hooks. This has got to end… creating the awareness and giving people the correct information about the ‘threat’ of shark attacks is the main tool in which we can use to creating the change here.


Photo: saveoursharks.com.au

I will update you all on how I go in the next few days!

    ~~~~

If you want to stand up and help us end the dolphin slaughter in Japan for good: Please help us put pressure upon the Japanese government and embassys worldwide- let them know that you oppose the slaughter by calling and emailing. Also, please become involved in my ‘Youth Project’ and tell your friends! Or send me an email if you wish to get more involved…

Don’t forget to keep emailing any questions and comments to me at pathtoprotect@hotmail.com!

I recently entered a competition for a grant to help me travel to this year’s International Whaling Commission meeting in the UK in July… There is only one week left to vote! Please, have a look at my profile by clicking HERE, and click on ‘Like’ to vote for me… Thank you to everyone who has supported me in this so far, it really does mean a lot!

You can follow my videos here on this blogpage as well as my Youtube Channel
Also, don’t forget to add me as a friend on Facebook if you haven’t yet- for regular updates, photos, information and videos!

To find out more information on marine conservation, head to: http://www.seashepherd.org

Thankyou everyone for your continued support, and positive feedback! We all really appreciate it!
On the path to protect,
Nicole.

6 comments

  1. I empathize with what you wrote. It is hard to go back home when you have seen what you have seen. It is like coming back from a war that you experienced and try to people what you have seen.
    It is not that people do not care, they are just involved in their own world. It is hard to make people see what they really think is not important because they think that it will not affect them.
    What they do not understand is that it will….maybe not now….but it will. It will affect their children and the future genterations. I have learned is what we do now that will make a difference in the future that will come.
    I am older than you…something that I don’t admit very often…lol ….but keep on doing what you’re heart is telling you to do. Keep on spreading your message…people from all over the world are listening and sharing. One person can make a difference~

  2. You could have mentioned 1600 dugongs and thousands of sea turtles annually by the Australians. You also industrially kill tens of thousands of sharks for their fins, while shark fishing, including the endangered great white sharks, is regarded as one of the sports.

    1. Hi Kimura.
      I am actually directly addressing the problem of turtle and dugong slaughter in Australia very soon. In April I will be meeting with experts and the organisations involved in their protection, I aim to meet Australian politicians who have a power to change what is happening, become involved in media awareness, and I am looking to further my involvement in other ways which I will go into at a later date. I have addressed this problem, as well as shark finning, numerous times on my blog- as I will continue to do so until these issues end. I will also outline the problems facing the Great Barrier Reef and others… I am well aware of the many issues affecting marine life both in my own country and worldwide. There are so many problems all over the world- all countries have a hand at the destruction of our oceans, and it is time to put a stop to it.
      Thanks for caring about our oceans… Nicole.

      1. I’m very glad to know that you’re addressing these problems in Australia. I am very sorry if I missed reading your important addresses on this blog – will read them soon. Do you have a plan to visit the Torres Strait where the dugong slaughter happens and protest the locals? As we all know dugongs & sea turtles are very endangered species – they are calling for our urgent support. It’s a huge shame for Australians who allow this atrocity happen in their own country. It’s inconceivable why Australian politicians defend the hunt for cultural reasons, while accusing the others for using the same excuse. Thank you, Nicole!

  3. Hi Nicole, glad your back to reality, as in you a bright active.
    Good preparation of school talks, the pleasure of reading you on sharks
    and the life of your side ..
    Thank you for all Nicole…… 🙂

  4. Voted for ya’ Nicole!!! things will seem more familiar as you are back for a longer time…familiar..but different..YOU are different now. Your experiences in Taiji in a short time have been more intense than many people experience in a lifetime……Have a great time with your school talks and I, for one, am glad you DID go to Taiji!!!! Good luck in the competition, young lady!!!!

Leave a Reply

