An Encounter of Beauty…

Amidst witnessing some of the most horrible threats facing marine wild life, and encountering some disgraceful acts against the oceans committed by humans, sometimes you need a day to re-affirm your motivation and faith in the future of our seas… To see the freedom and grace that wild animals of the sea exude, it invigorates your passion, and reminds you of exactly why it is that we are all in this fight for the oceans… Tonight, instead of describing yet another horrific crime against nature that humankind continue to commit, my blog will be about my encounter today with an amazing creature- just to try and emphasise again exactly why we are all striving to protect marine animals of the sea…

Today was one of those rare days that you will never forget… Where a fleeting moment of happiness totally drowns out everything else in the world. Just for that one moment.

Today Andy and I took a trip down south only about half an hour to Byron Bay- one of Australia’s most famous beaches… The sun was out, as were the surfers, sitting on their boards in the lukewarm seawater, waiting for their perfect wave…

We went up to the Lighthouse and lookout, which is Australia’s most Easterly point… This is definitely one of my all-time favourite dolphin and whale watching headlands off the east coast of Australia, with what seems like a 300degree view of the ocean…
We looked down to one of the popular surfing areas, and saw a pod of dolphins happily surfing the waves nearby… This was the first time I had seen dolphins since being in Japan, it was a very mixed feeling. We watched them until they swam out of sight around a bend in the coastline… already, the day was incredible.

We ventured back down to the warm sand, and took a walk along the shore… As the hot sun was beating down on our shoulders, we decided to jump into the surf… as we did so, we noticed a pod of around 6 dolphins surfing a large wave only metres in front of us. In my many years of watching dolphins from headlands and beaches, I have seen dolphins riding the waves plenty of times, but I had never seen it so close before! It was as if time was moving in slow motion, as the wave which stood well above our heads rolled toward us, the dolphins barely breaking the surface below were gliding along, as if it were effortless… Just before the wave reached us, and it crashed to form a heap of white-wash, the dolphins pulled out together. It seemed orchestrated.

We couldn’t believe our eyes, and as we swam out past the breaking waves, expecting the dolphins to have swam far away by that time, we noticed a dark fin surface only metres away… then another, and another. The pod, which included a few young juveniles, continued to play right before us in the water for almost 15 minutes, rolling around in the waves, racing each other, and checking out surfers nearby. Every now and then one of the dolphins would surface just far enough out of the water for me to catch a glimpse of its’ eye… When you look into the eye of an animal of such intelligence, and it is looking straight back at you, you can sense so much awareness and understanding… Whenever I am in the water with another sea animal such as a dolphin, the sense of inadequacy is so over-powering. It is blatantly obvious that the ocean is these animals’ domain, their home… in the water, humans appear so inferior in comparison to the agile, sleek, graceful and powerful bodies of these animals and the complicated and intricate adaptations which they possess.

It is these moments which I will never forget… my brushes with some of the most amazing creatures ever to inhabit this earth. Last September, I was lucky enough to encounter two adult Humpback Whales whilst guiding a snorkelling tour off Lady Elliot Island- that memory of those beautiful animals underwater will stay with me for a long time, as will the memory of today’s encounter. These are the memories I draw upon when motivation feels hard to come by…

Let’s just hope we can protect these precious creatures so generations to come will be able to experience these same encounters one day…

~~~~

Tomorrow I will have my finished video which will accompany my presentations, that I will upload for you all to see!

If you want to stand up and help us end the dolphin slaughter in Japan for good: Please help us put pressure upon the Japanese government and embassys worldwide- let them know that you oppose the slaughter by calling and emailing. Also, please become involved in my ‘Youth Project’ and tell your friends! Or send me an email if you wish to get more involved…

Don’t forget to keep emailing any questions and comments to me at pathtoprotect@hotmail.com!

I recently entered a competition for a grant to help me travel to this year’s International Whaling Commission meeting in the UK in July… There is only one week left to vote! Please, have a look at my profile by clicking HERE, and click on ‘Like’ to vote for me… Thank you to everyone who has supported me in this so far, it really does mean a lot!

You can follow my videos here on this blogpage as well as my Youtube Channel
Also, don’t forget to add me as a friend on Facebook if you haven’t yet- for regular updates, photos, information and videos!

To find out more information on marine conservation, head to: http://www.seashepherd.org

Thankyou everyone for your continued support, and positive feedback! We all really appreciate it!
On the path to protect,
Nicole.

9 comments

  1. Very nice post!

    And, in case those of us who can’t devote the same amount of time to the cause:

    Thank you for all your hard work.

    Eric J Hoagland

  2. Hi Nicole my name is Sarah i see your hard work and the time you spend trying to help these beautiful creature I hope your voice gets heard some day soon I follow almost every post and watch every video I encourage my mates to watch your links and help get the word out . You are an amazing young women and an inspiration to us all keep up the fantastic job you are doing 🙂

  3. the dolphins came just for you, it is not coincidence that they stayed to play and came so close! they understand just how much you are putting on the line to save and protect their species, you are dolphin family now! xxx

  4. There is something amazing in the eye of the dolphin that is indescribable. Once you interact with them in the wild its like they can sense that you have done that before. Anywhere you are near in the ocean if there is a wild dolphin you will see it. I know it happens to me every time I go out to the ocean. So happy for you that you were able to enjoy this moment. God Bless you Nicole wishing you the best in all your future adventures.

Leave a Reply

