An Ocean Worth Saving…

Over the past few weeks, I have been immersed in and around the underwater realm that has been inspiring me every single day of my life… the oceans.

Photographing a Bull Ray whilst diving at Lady Elliot Island on the Great Barrier Reef.

I am lucky enough to be working amongst the amazing marine wildlife of the Great Barrier Reef, and have recently returned from a trip up a little further north to a Pacific island called Vanuatu. Here, I was able to explore a different underwater paradise to the one I am used to back here in Australia… Having this time recently to appreciate what we do have in the oceans has been motivating me on to my next steps this year- to focus on conserving what we have now, before it becomes something that we only remember from photos and memories…


Photo- Nicole McLachlan

Shortly after returning from Vanuatu, I was able to give a talk at a fundraiser on the 14th of May on my experiences, marine conservation in general and my passion to motivate young people to get involved. The fundraiser was organised by Isabel Dow, an amazing example of how much someone can achieve… at only nine years old! One of the guest speakers was also Terri Irwin, who I got the chance to chat to during the night.

Talking at Isabel’s fundraiser…

Looking back at this past year, I have grown so much, learnt so much and have had some of the toughest, most inspiring and life-changing experiences… A year ago I would never have imagined that in only a short amount of time I would have experienced so much, and have opportunities such as presenting a 40 minute talk in front of Terri Irwin ahead of me. I am always so grateful at where I am now, and it is something that I am very aware of- that I am blessed with the opportunities to make a difference. Where I want to make that difference is amongst the youth of the world, working alongside other young kids and adults… So that is what I am aiming to do.

Myself with Bindi Irwin and Isabel Dow at Isabel’s fundraiser…

Over the next few months, I will be preparing my trip to Jersey in the Channel Islands for the International Whaling Commission, and planning where I can go from there… In the month of June I will be involved in a few projects and fundraisers, and will let you know more about it all soon! You can read a recent article about my journey HERE.

Thank you all for continuing to support me in my journey…
On the path to protect,
Nicole.

5 comments

  1. Hello once again Nicole!! Although it feels like you never really went anywhere< I'm pleased once again to be able to follow your blog. I admire you so much and find you to be the highlite of my day so am looking forward to all that you share with those of us who can only wish to be able to do as you do. I wish you good journeys where ever you go to defend what we love…Our oceans and all that is in it. Thank You and wishing you happiness and enjoyment in this life's journey even during the rough times when the horrors go on and on. All the best and checking always for your informing and beautifully written blogs… God be with you!! ❤

  2. Dear Nicole, i have been behind u from the beginning! Thank goodness u are going to the IWC to speak up for the smaller Cetaceans, such as Dolphins, Porpoises & Pilot Whales! The Dall’s Porpoise is nearly extinct! Good on U! Thanx so much, Apple Neilson

  3. Hi Nicole…….well, I see you have been a busy busy girl!!! Absolutely fantastic… so glad to see you will be gong to IWC to make some impact!!!! Posting some fotos for us to see your wonderful travels??? Be well, and take good care!!!! Safe journey always!!!! Thank you for all you do!
    For the Oceans and her friends!!!

  4. Very beautiful photos.

    Cool that you and Terri spoke – have wondered if you two would ever connect as you share the same love for creation.

    Keep up the good work.

    I can not understand why some people can destroy nature – it must be evil greed because how can someone kill porpoise, dolphins etc after seeing the photos or video of these beautiful creatures?.!

    Respectfully,
    Greg Peterson on the shores of Lake Superior in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.

Leave a Reply

