Life on the Reef!

Hello Hello all šŸ™‚

Well, I have been so busy over the past few weeks that this is the first time I have been able to sit put and write on here! I really miss keeping you all up to date- and there is so much to tell!

So I am back out on Lady Elliot Island, working as an island/marine wildlife tour guide- the best part about the island is the Green Zone that protects it for about 15km around! It’s a sanctuary for many species of marine life! So my job is to show people the beauty of it! (Not a hard task if you ask me šŸ˜‰


I’ll be out here for a while- luckily I have plenty of manta rays, sharks, turtles, dolphins and whales to keep me company! I will be using this time to gain underwater footage and to plan my In Our Hands campaign. Over here on the island I will also be developing my talks and presentations to give at schools and universities around Australia next year!

Back to life on the reef… about a week and a half ago I had the incredible joy to witness two wild bottlenose dolphins hunting along the reef during a snorkelling tour! There was an adult female, and her juvenile young. I lay motionless on top of the ocean surface as the beautiful dolphins surfaced near me over and over- meanwhile retreating to their game of ‘cat and mouse’ with a nearby school of big eyed trevally… The last time I witnessed dolphins underwater was through nets in the notorious dolphin hunting village of Taiji last January.. you can imagine how different this experience was for me. It was a day I will always remember! šŸ™‚

Here’s a video I put together of last week’s dolphin encounter as well as some other friends I made along the way here! I’ll be uploading a video every week to the Lady Elliot Island Youtube channel updating on some of the nature encounters we have here šŸ™‚

Last night I had the amazing honour to watch another of John Meech’s presentations on his work with Sea Turtles. John is a leading contributor to vital sea turtle research based in Australia- I’ve been learning so much about these amazing sea creatures during his visits out to Lady Elliot- since 2009! šŸ™‚

So I plan on updating here all about my time on the reef much more often from now on! I’ll be uploading my second Lady Elliot Youtube video with footage I gained this week here on the reef freediving with turtles and being amongst a 10+ Manta Ray feeding frenzy!

I’ll also have some updates on the In Our Hands campaign shortly šŸ™‚
You’ll be seeing me back here very soon šŸ˜‰

Nicole

2 comments

  1. Beautiful footage of all your friends Nicole! I’ve truly loved following you over the years! You’ve really inspired me to take a more active role in protecting our beautiful oceans here in the USA and all over the world!! And I wanted to say “Thank you” and keep up your meaningful work!!

  2. So glad to hear from you, Nicole..It sounds as thought you are having a wonderful time and learning so much to share with all of us!!!!!!! Sadly Taiji is almost here again………Hopefuly we will reach more people this time around to help them understand how this must be stopped and that there is no reason for it to be happening to begin with. I do know this………The people who do know..who do understand, will never quit.NEVER!!!!!!!! Stay in touch with us all when you can!!!

Leave a Reply

